BigTablet.com Blog

May 19, 2009

Why do people hate vendors

Filed under: Rants — ciddennis @ 7:47 pm

So I have a situation where I not only provide services as a vendor but consume services from other vendors. I have always tried to be nice to the vendors I work, with but noticed that in many cases others do not extend the same good behavior.  This is just not to me working as a vendor but I see it all the time with companies working with other vendors.

Some of the top request that I see from companies working with vendors:

  • Unrealistic timelines to provide functionality that they will not even want for months after it is completed
  • Just plain being rude to the vendor.
  • Using promise carrots to get something they want but not following through on the promise.

I think if you do not want help from a vendor just tell them straight out.  Do not lead them on they have better things to do with their time then to try for work that they can not get.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.